Three things I did this week

Leave a comment

February 9, 2013 by phoenixanew

  • I broke a promise I made to myself approximately 18 years ago.  I became a Stephen King fanatic shortly after The Stand miniseries aired on television, and voraciously read everything of his I could get my hands on.  My dad was a fan so fortunately that was pretty easy to do.  I had absolutely loved the short story titled “The Lawnmower Man” and was then shocked and horrified when I found out someone had ripped off the name to make a completely unrelated movie.  I probably also heard about King suing them about it, and the fan girl I was, I decided my way to stand behind him 100% was to never, ever watch that film.  But I watched it on Tuesday.  It’s for a future episode of this, and all I can say is I hope it comes out half as entertaining as I want it to.
  • I started reading Catching Fire, aka the book after The Hunger Games.  I have it on my kindle, which I have in a case that is purple because I love purple.  This is the third book I’ve read at work in my downtime, but despite the other two being King novels, this is the first time I got a comment from my boss.  I’m guessing because it was a blank cover rather than one you could see.  “Are you reading dirty books?” he asks me.  “No,” I reply.  I debate telling him what I’m actually reading and then hold back, mostly because I don’t want questions about a book I’m only into Chapter 5 on.  “You should be,” he says, before launching into whatever he had come to talk to me about.  He has a strange sense of humor.
  • I was once again momentarily freaked out when the doorbell rang Wednesday, not long after I got home from work.  Knowing Jak was out roaming Houma, I don’t expect a visitor.  I start thinking about who on earth it could be trying to sell me something when it’s dark out, when I look through the peephole and see no one.  I’m all confused, peeking through the blinds in the window, when finally I see the brake lights of the UPS truck off to the left.  The sad part is this happens all the time, especially since I’m an addict to getting things in the mail, and the UPS man delivers at roughly the same time every evening.  This time it was my Converse Teen Titans shoes with Robin on them.  I love them.
Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,152 other followers

